Sunday 16th December 2012.

Our Christmas Meal was again held at The Copy Nook, Bolton by Bowland, and was attended by 36 members and friends. There was time to socialise in the bar area before heading into the function room at 1:00pm for the 4 course meal.

Seven members joined the morning ride, on a 22 mile route from Higherford over to the Copy Nook, on what was as good a December day as we could have hoped for, with blue skies, and even a rainbow visible over Rathmell. Richard Armstrong deserves a special mention as he took it upon himself to open all of the gates on Tod Holes Lane for the rest of the party.

Meanwhile several other members had driven to the venue and then done a short circular cycle ride from there, while others just met up for the meal.

The Bill Heywood Trophy is awarded annually, in honour of our former Club President. A secret ballot is held at our AGM in November to determine the recipient of the trophy, in recognition of the work they have done for the club. 

This years vote had resulted in a four way tie between President Ian Lowcock, Secretary John Ramsden, Rights & Planning and Off-Road Representative Chris Marshall and Former Secretary Norma Duckett. Following a short discussion between the relavent parties it was decided that this years trophy should go to Norma Duckett in recognition of all the work she has done for the club over many years on the committee and as Secretary.

Previous winners of the Bill Heywood Trophy:

2012 - John Ramsden

2011 - John Ramsden

2010 - Graham Shutt

2009 - Andrew Jennings