We have two trophies that are awarded every year at our annual Christmas dinner. Starting in 2020, the criteria for awarding these trophies will be as follows:

Bill Heywood Trophy

The Bill Heywood trophy is awarded based on the committee’s recommendations on a members achievements throughout the year, this recommendation may result in opening the award up to a members vote at the A.G.M.

Jack Harrison Trophy

Members accumulate points throughout the year by joining club rides, attending club social events, and attending the groups A.G.M. at the beginning of November. The member with the most points after the A.G.M. will be presented with the trophy at the annual Christmas Dinner.

Points will only be awarded to full Cycling UK members, new members only becoming eligible on production of their membership card, at which time they start with an initial 15 point bonus for joining.

In detail points will be awarded as follows...

Ride / Event Points
Complete the majority of a published club run - Saturday / Sunday / Midweek or Tuesday Evening, including any rides on a club trip. It is the ride leader’s (or proxy's) responsibility to report attendance to the committee after each ride. 10
New member bonus - on presentation of Cycling UK Membership card to a committee member. 15
Attending a club social event. 5
Attend the groups A.G.M. 10

The A.G.M. is the final qualifying event each year. (This gives us time to get the trophies engraved for presentation at the annual Christmas Dinner.

Points accrued after the A.G.M. will be allocated to the following years total.

To prevent monopolisation, members will not be eligible to win the trophy two years consecutively.

Obviously, for this to work, it is important that an attendance report is sent to the committee after every ride, so that the points total can be maintained. We are therefore asking all our ride leaders (or a proxy if a ride has no leader), to email rider lists in after each ride. (please send to Mark Clegg and Jim Duerden).