Wednesday 14th July 2010 saw the annual town center cycle race.

Burnley and Pendle CTC provided marshalls for the event, which attracts a contribution towards our club funds.

A large crowd braved the dark clouds, flashes of lightening and showers to watch this annual event.

The main race was Round 5 of the Elite Circuit Series, were a 70 strong field raced for an hour around the tight 800 metre circuit. The race was won by Dean Downing (Rapha Condor Sharp) ahead of local Barnoldswick rider Ian Wilkinson (Endura Racing) and Olympic gold medallist Ed Clancy (Motorpoint Marshals Pasta). Other local riders included Colne's Olympic bronze medallist Steven Burke and Trawden rider Paul Oldham.

A field of 55 riders had lined up earlier in the evening, for the Regional B Support Race, where the enthusiastic crowd saw a big bunch sprint for the finish, after 45 minutes of racing, which was won by Bill Nickson (Bill Nickson Cycles) ahead of James Notley (Team Goldtec) and Ashley Marshall (VS Cycles).