Burnley and Pendle

Cyclists Touring Club

National Championships 2010


The National Road Cycle Championships 2010, came to the village of Barley for a weekend of events.P1010356

Saturday 26thJune saw the National Sportive take place starting and finishing in Barley village. The mens and womens National Road Race Championships were held on Sunday 27th June. On both days there was a spectators village with various stalls and exhibitors, which included our small stand publizing both the National CTC and our local Burnley & Pendle CTC member group.


Unfortunatley the woman's race was interupted by an horrendous crash, in the bunch, on the first 50mph descent. Riders that had been dropped on the first climb, and were trying to catch up, then crashed into the back of the team cars which were stopped behind the original crash. The race was delayed for over an hour, as ambulance crews treated the injured.


When the race did re-start Emma Pooley attacked straight away, on the first climb, and was joined by Nicole Cooke, and then Pooley's Cervelo team mates Lizzie Armistead and Sharon Laws. Nicole Cooke was the current champion, having won the title 10 times including the previous 9 years in a row. Emma Pooley had finished 2nd in 2008 and 3rd in 2009 behind Lizzie Armistead. After a series of attacks from both Pooley and Cooke, Pooley managed to break clear close to the finish, with Lizzie Armistead pipping Cooke to 2nd place.


A strong field lined up for the mens race, with several riders including Mark Cavandish, David Millar and Geraint Thomas due to compete in the Tour de France the following week.

Following a couple of early breaks, the decisive attack came toward the end of lap 5, with thr remainder of the 180km (120 mile) race being dominated by three riders from the Sky Procycling team, Geraint Thomas, Peter Kennaugh & Ian Stannard.


Kennaugh was unable to shake off Thomas on the final climb, and was outsprinted by Thomas at the finish. This was the first road race National title for Geraint Thomas, who had finished 3rd back in 2006. Peter Kennaugh had finished in 2nd place for the third year running. Defending Champion Kristian House could only finish in twelth place, 1 lap and over 18 minutes behind.   



Annual General Meeting

We will be holding this years Annual General Meeting on Thursday 4th March @ 7:30pm. Due to the ongoing Coronovirus…

Return to Group Rides (amended)

Only last week we wrote that with the (then) current restrictions, and exemptions for organised group rides, we felt able…

Bridlington - May 2020

The current situation with the Coronovirus pandemic is very unlikley to be other with by May, so it's extrememly unlikely…

Quiz Night - 17th February 2020

Our Annual Inter Club Quiz will be held at Boyce's Barrel in Colne on Monday 17th February 2020 - 7:30pm…

David's 90th Birthday Party

On Sunday 1st March we will be celebrating David's 90th birthday. David has been a life long cyclist, and is…